Facebook Page – Yea or Nay?

Hey everyone,

So tonight I have a question to all who follow my blog: should I create a writer’s facebook page?  Before you all rush down to the bottom of the page and type in a resounding “YES!” the reason I hesitate and am asking you all is that I am still unpublished and without an agent.

I did read in an article in Writer’s Digest that published fiction writers should create one to cultivate readership, but what about an unpublished one?  How many of you have a facebook page, and would you mind putting in a link to it so I can see what you do?  Who are other writers who have facebook pages that you follow, and why do you follow them?

I’ve looked at some established authors on facebook, such as Timothy Zahn and Laurel K. Hamilton, but I’m a long way towards being that established, lol.

Image Source - https://www.facebook.com/TimothyZahn
Image Source – https://www.facebook.com/TimothyZahn

Thanks everyone!  :)
-Jon

6 thoughts on “Facebook Page – Yea or Nay?”

  1. Ah, I’m an unpublished agent-less newb so nothing of experience to offer. I have a FB page but I only use it as another avenue to publish my blog posts. One day, maybe it’ll prove it’s worth, but I really don’t spend time on it after the initial set up. I’m sure there are many more learned minds who can offer their wisdom. Just keep writing I say!

  2. I would say create one and use it as a way to get the word out about your writing, but do not focus on the facebook page. That way when you have material you will have a network to which you can solicit it.

Leave a Reply

