Chronicles of the Sentinels – Chapter Outline Complete!

Hi everyone,

In just two days, I completed the entire chapter outline for Chronicles of the Sentinels!!  Holy cow!

Photo taken by Laura Earley
Photo taken by Laura Earley

My original plan was to wait until this weekend to start the chapter outlines, but yesterday my imagination was just teeming with ideas about how scenes would play out and how the novel would form up, so I started yesterday morning before work, worked on it every chance I got yesterday and today, and today after work, I went to Starbucks and finished the last few chapters.

As it stands now, CotS is going to be 25 chapters.  I have no idea what the word count or page count will be, but if I had to guess, I’d say word count will come to be about 70,000ish. That puts it right where it should be for a first-time author trying to get a YA novel published.  Also the number of chapters could increase as I write the novel: that happened with The Sword of Dragons – Burning Skies, I added I think 4 new unplanned chapters to it while I wrote it :)

Perspective

CotS (or should I just always spell it out?) will be a 3rd person limited perspective story.  Common examples are most of the oldest Star Wars Expanded Universe novels or Harry Potter.  Descriptions will be “He did this” or “She said that” type of thing.

Image Source - http://branislavboda.deviantart.com
Emmi (Image Source – http://branislavboda.deviantart.com)

Just as I’ve done for The Sword of Dragons, every chapter will remain in one character’s point of view, meaning the perspective will not jump from one character to another within a chapter.  However from one chapter to the next, the perspective will change often.

For instance, Chapter 1 will be from the Sentinels’ leader, Tom’s, perspective.  Chapter 2 will be from Chris’s.  Other characters whose perspectives I will write from will be Emmi and Alycia.  Chris is the main character, so the majority of chapters will be written from his perspective, however Emmi will also be prominent in this novel.

What’s Next?

Photo taken by Laura Earley
Photo taken by Laura Earley

Tomorrow I’ll be transcribing the chapter outlines from my journal to the computer.

Then CotS officially moves out of Pre-Writing – I will start writing the actual manuscript!!!!  For those who read my blog articles about my writing process, you’ll know that this is my favorite part of writing a novel!

For The Sword of Dragons – Burning Skies, when I reached this stage, I only wrote on weekends.  I would go to Starbucks on Saturdays or Sundays (or sometimes both in a single weekend) and would spend about 4 or 5 hours writing.  This allowed me to complete the novel in about 3 months or so.

For Chronicles, I intend to write much more frequently!  Not just because this story has me extremely excited, but because I want to start writing more like it’s a career rather than a weekend hobby.  That’s why I’ve been working on Chronicles almost every single day since I first came up with the idea.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned in life, its that while success in one’s endeavors is not always guaranteed by hard work, the harder you work, the more likely you are to succeed.  I want this.  I want to write for a living.  So I am going to work my butt off to get there!

So, if all goes according to plan, Chronicles will officially move out of Pre-Writing this Saturday.  Keep an eye on this blog, cause I’ll definitely let you all know how it progresses!  And in case you didn’t notice, a couple of days ago I placed a new link on the top menu of my blog for “My Novels”  There’s a description and status of every novel I’ve completed or am working on!

-Jon

4 thoughts on “Chronicles of the Sentinels – Chapter Outline Complete!”

  1. You have done so well with this book. Seeing how excited you are makes me excited to read it and hopefully see things from your point of excitement. As excited as you are to be writing frequently and with as much passion, I just don’t want you to burn out. Have fun, but be wary. No more writers block for you! ;)

Leave a Reply

