Chronicles of the Sentinels – 1st Draft Completed!

Hi everyone!

Today I finished the 1st draft of Chronicles of the Sentinels!  :D

I have been so very excited about this new project from day one, and I have worked on it at a pace I never thought possible.  However, the pace didn’t come just from how excited this story has made me, it came from a desire to prove to myself that I could write every day, and treat writing like a full-time job.  (Which means I’ve essentially been working 2 full time jobs over the past two months.)

The really awesome part is this puts me exactly 1 week ahead of schedule for my deadline!

Journal for developing Chronicles of the Sentinels.  Purchased from Barnes & Noble
Journal for developing Chronicles of the Sentinels. Purchased from Barnes & Noble

11 June 2014 was when I started this project, the very beginning when I first came up with the idea, bought a new journal for it, and started development.  I developed not just the story, but the entire background for what will be at least a trilogy, and wrote the novel.  That’s an incredible amount of work for just 2 months!

Of course, my work isn’t done yet.  I still have proofreading/revisions to go through.  Plus this novel will not be seen by any other eyes until I’ve finished proofreading, so beta-readers won’t get their hands on it just yet.

I will say this, though, I feel incredible about this entire experience!  And I am so glad that I’ve been able to share it with you all from day one.  Creating this blog when I did seems to have been inspired timing :D  And the journey is not over yet!

Image Source - http://www.rmfw.org/
Image Source – http://www.rmfw.org/

After proofreading, I’ll be sending the novel out to beta readers.  Once they give me feedback, I’ll make changes as needed and perform one last read-through.  And then I get to pitch my novel at the Colorado Gold Writer’s Conference!

I feel absolutely confident in this novel.  The plot, the characters, the writing style, everything came together so well, and I’m so excited to share this with the world.  More than that, I just have this feeling that this will be what gets my career going.  I think this could be my breakout novel :)

But, I don’t want to get too far ahead of myself.  There’s a long road ahead of me yet!  I hope you’ll all continue to stick with me along the way.  It’s like the song in one of my favorite novels and movies, “The Road goes ever on and on, down from the door where it began.  Now far ahead the road has gone, and I must follow, if I can…”

Searching for a Title

“But wait, I thought you already had a title?”  I do, for the trilogy.  Chronicles of the Sentinels will be the name for the entire trilogy or even the entire series if I decide to write stories beyond the trilogy.  However, each individual novel will also need it’s own names, starting with this first novel.

As has been the case recently, I am struggling to come up with a good title.  I’ve toyed with some ideas, like “The Shattering” or “Shadows of Babylon” but I’m not sure I like either of those.  What do you all think?

Chronicles of the Sentinels – 1st Draft by the Numbers

After my proofread/revisions is complete, I have no doubt that these numbers will change, but the completed first draft is as follows:

Chapters: 25
Word Count: 72,526
Page Count: 224

This is right where it should be for a YA or YA-Crossover novel, so I am especially pleased with that :)

I know today is Sunday and I promised you all an excerpt every weekend.  So I’ll keep that promise.  Keep an eye out for later today, I’ll be posting an except from Chapter 10!

3 thoughts on “Chronicles of the Sentinels – 1st Draft Completed!”

  1. Congratulations on finishing this first draft! I know how proud you are, and we are thrilled to see that you’ve come so far. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

