Conference-Bound!

Hi everyone!

Tomorrow I head out for the Colorado Gold Conference hosted by the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers!  How do I feel about that?

Image Source - kendavenport.typepad.com
Image Source – kendavenport.typepad.com

Excited, terrified, anxious, hopeful, energetic…a whole slew of words, I could go on and on.  (No really, I’m a writer with a BA in English, I can go on endlessly!  ;) )

It’s an end and a beginning all at once.  Without even having realized it, this conference was to be a major milestone even before I decided to attend.  Even if I don’t attract an agent this weekend, I know that this is going to be a huge step in my career as a writer.  I have the panels I want to attend picked out, and they’re exactly what I think I need right now as a writer.

Plus I get to mingle with a bunch of other writers, something I confess I haven’t really had a chance to do before!  That in and of itself is exciting, to meet those who are going through or have gone through the same struggles I have, who have the same hopes and dreams.

Image Source - https://www.facebook.com/lindseystirlingmusic
Image Source – https://www.facebook.com/lindseystirlingmusic

I think I’ve mentioned it before, but what really started me on this course was when I attended a Lindsey Stirling concert on May 30th.  A combination of doing something I had never done before, and was terrified to do (go to a major event like this alone,) and the music and her story just moved and motivated me, and left me with an incredible energy that, even over 3 months later, still hasn’t dissipated!

There’s much more to it than just the concert, of course, including finding myself, learning to believe in myself, becoming comfortable in my own skin.  Not to mention coming up with my best idea for a novel so far definitely helped :)  But one thing I’m really just constantly reminding myself tonight: relax, have fun at the conference, and above all, don’t be afraid to be myself, even if that means being a little goofy/funny!

So here we go.  The next big step is before me.  And tonight, just now, I finally feel ready for it :)  Care to keep going on this crazy journey with me?  Because believe me, my story is just beginning, and I intend to take you all along for the ride!

One last bit of exciting news: today I was asked for my autograph for the first time in my life!  And not just by one, but by two people!!!  :D

Thanks for reading,
-Jon

7 thoughts on “Conference-Bound!”

  1. Enjoy your conference! I like Lindsay Sterling too, and Taylor Davis. The music from a violin is so beautiful, it sings to me in many ways and I often listen to a track before I write.

    1. Hi Emma, thanks for commenting! I’m sorry I didn’t reply sooner, it really has been a crazy week :) I don’t know Taylor Davis, I’ll look her up! The violin is one of my favorite instruments too :) Honestly I listened to Lindsey Stirling more than any other music while I wrote my latest novel. The exception were the last few chapters, which is when I played the ‘epic battle music’ playlist I had made up for my previous novels :)

  2. I’m so happy everything went so great for u at the conference and I’m proud that everything your doing most of it yourself luv ya

Leave a Reply

