Self-Publishing – Is It Freedom?

Hi everyone!

Image Source - http://carlywatters.com/
Image Source – http://carlywatters.com/

Today I came across a blog article by one of my favorite bloggers, Carly Watters, the article was called “5 Things You Didn’t Know About Querying as a Debut Author”  First and foremost, if you are a debut author looking to find an agent, check out that article.  She makes 5 very excellent points!

In fact, what she said in that article really helped give me some perspective on agents.  First, and I think this is the most important part, agents are individuals with individual tastes that are as varied as readers’ tastes.  Keeping that in mind, chances are good there is an agent out there somewhere who would love to see and represent your work (and mine :D heheh.)

Image Source - Unknown
Image Source – Unknown

Second, agents aren’t “creatures of the night” or scary monsters.  They really are people.  More to the point, they do what they do because they love to read.  Which means agents, good agents, want to read debut authors.  They are excited about finding new talent to bring to the world, not just for everyone else’s enjoyment, but for their own as well.

However, another thought occurred to me as I read through Ms. Watters’s article: relief.

Relief that my choice to self-publish The Sword of Dragons means I don’t have to worry about refining my query letter or synopsis.  I don’t have to wade through the vast sea of agents to find one whose interests may coincide with my story.  Relief that I don’t have to hit that dreaded ‘send’ button when I query.  Relief that I don’t have to get any more rejection letters.

Well, no more rejection letters for The Sword of Dragons.  I do still want to one day go down the path of traditional publication for one of my works.  Why?  Because I want to see my book on bookshelves at Barnes and Noble or The Tattered Cover (it’s a Denver thing :) ) Right now, print-on-demand doesn’t really allow for that, nor do eBooks.

Image Source - https://cbsdenver.files.wordpress.com
Image Source – https://cbsdenver.files.wordpress.com

So there will still be query letters in my future, and, I hope (crossing my fingers) an agent :)

But I just have this incredible sense of relief that I no longer have to query for The Sword of Dragons.  My writing future, this novel’s future, it’s in my hands.

I kinda like that :)

I do know that I have a ton of work ahead of me.  I also recognize that I probably don’t even know the half of it.  I’ve already put in more work than I anticipated just formatting the novel for createspace.com.

But it’ll be worth it in the end.  Of that I am certain :)

Oh and I know I promised the abstract last week, but I had to be sure it would fit in the cover’s back page.  Well it didn’t, so I have pared it down.  If it fits in with the cover, this will be the first place I post the abstract, I promise!

Thanks for reading!
-Jon Wasik

2 thoughts on “Self-Publishing – Is It Freedom?”

Leave a Reply

