In the Beginning – Starting Book 3

Hey everyone,

Image Source - www.popsugar.com
Image Source – http://www.popsugar.com

Guess who’s back!!!  …No, it’s no the Doctor, though anyone who haven’t watched it yet, season 8 of Doctor Who is now available on Netflix :D

After nearly another month, I’ve decided it’s time to start blogging again.  The last few months have been difficult, but I’m finally starting to feel like my old self again, and that means I will be focusing more on writing and blogging again :)

I want to say thank you to those who have sent me encouraging messages.  I know I’ve lost a lot of readership due to my long hiatus, so any of you who have stuck around and are reading this now, you truly rock for being so patient with me :)

Now, onto the meat of this blog entry!

The Sword of Dragons Book 3 – How to Start It

With Burning Skies (book 2 of The Sword of Dragons) only a few months away from release, and most prep work already done for publication, I’ve been free to start focusing on book 3.

For me, pre-production of a novel usually takes months or even years.  I often get the idea for a novel while I’m in the middle of another project, and so I buy a journal for it and I write down the initial idea.  Then, as I continue working on my current projects, I’ll write down more ideas as they come to me.

Book 3 has been no different.  I always write down the date on page one of the journal, and book 3’s first date is July 30th 2013.  Yep, that’s not a typo, I’ve been jotting ideas down for book 3 for two years!  And that time was much needed, the plot is the biggest and most complex I have come up with for any story yet.

Image Source: http://sd.keepcalm-o-matic.co.uk
Image Source: http://sd.keepcalm-o-matic.co.uk

But now, I’m at the point where I have finished developing the overall plot outline.  And the next stage is writing out chapter-by-chapter plot outlines.  (For those curious about my writing process, click here to read more :) ).  Only, I’m running into a bit of a road block: how do I start the story?

Actually, chapter 1 in this novel will be a little different.  Chapter 1 will start from a different character’s perspective, rather than Cardin’s.  And I already know exactly how that chapter will go.  So the question then becomes: how do I start the hero’s story in chapter 2?

river-song-profileOf course, I don’t want to give away too much here, because that would reveal too much about what will happen in book two.  (As River Song would say: “Spoilers!”)  But one of the basic themes of The Sword of Dragons is dealing with substantial changes, and something huge happens to Cardin in Burning Skies that he must come to terms with.

So that is how his journey must begin in book 3: learning how to cope with his new reality.  And someone very special will be helping him with that.  A character he met only briefly in book 1, and makes a comeback in book 3 :)

Image Source: iwantcovers.com
Image Source: iwantcovers.com

Shorter Blogs

I had thought of writing more about Burning Skies next in this post, but then I realized that most of my blog entries turn out to be super long.  It has been suggested in ‘how-to’ blogs that most readers prefer short posts, so it doesn’t take up too much of their time.  But then, most of you love to read novels, so perhaps that doesn’t apply here.

What do you all think?  Do you like my 1000+ word blog entries that I normally write, or would you prefer them to be more like this one, short, sweet and to the point?  I also would probably end up writing more blogs more often if they were shorter, to make up for the shorter length (cause there’s much to talk about :) )  Please comment below and tell me what you’d like to see here :)

Thanks for reading!
-Jon Wasik

2 thoughts on “In the Beginning – Starting Book 3”

    1. Heya, thanks for leaving a comment :) I’ve heard from a few others on my facebook and verbally that short would work best, so I will endeavor to do so.

      Thanks! :D

Leave a Reply

