VtW Gamefest – Geeks Know How to Party!

Hey everyone!

Geeks do it best.  There’s just no way around it :)  And this weekend, I was lucky enough to get to go to VtW Production’s Gamefest, a weekend-long LAN (Local Area Network) party hosted by Wayne!

The setup for Gamefest
The setup for Gamefest

A few weeks back, I had written an article about rediscovering my creative roots, including gaming.  Well, I finally was able to dive in head-first!  :D  Granted none of them were story-driven games, but it was a blast!

Plus, it was soooooo needed.  A weekend away from everything else, just hanging out with fellow geeks, gaming, drinking, and all around having fun!  While yes, it was a LAN party, it was so much more than that.  Half of the time, I was upstairs getting to know all of these amazing people, folks I wish I’d met a long time ago.

Fellow Geeks of the World – Unite!

I am not exaggerating – every single one of the persons I met this weekend are truly amazing – full-on geeks who are not afraid to show it, confident and fun-loving.  No joke, I found out that there is an actual training academy in the Denver area for learning how to fight with a lightsaber!

gamefest3
Alcohol and twister – not necessarily a good idea, but definitely amusing!

From computer engineers to nurses, people from every facet of life came together for the common cause of gaming and enjoying one another’s company.  Not to mention twister!

I also discovered the amazingly fun, but oh-so inappropriate game known as Cards Against Humanity.  So much fun that we stayed up until about 4AM playing!!  (Warning – not a game for kids, or for the easily-offended!)

Plus we had some amazing cooks at the party!  Sure there was plenty of junk food – pizza, candy, chips, salsa.  Oh but the salsa wasn’t just store-bought, Wayne made some home-made in a crock pot.  And then there were home-made cupcakes.  And chicken dumplings.  Sooooo much good food everywhere!

The Games of Gamefest

Then there was the gaming.  Upstairs was an awesome rig setup for Rock Band, so I got to rediscover drumming (and learned I am embarrassingly out of practice!)  Downstairs, well, lots and lots of incredible machines chugging away at some fantastic games, almost all of which I had never played before.

Including the new Star Wars Battlefront beta!!

The graphics really are this good!
The graphics really are this good!

While full of glitches, it IS the beta.  The graphics were amazing, and the gameplay was intense!  It was also the first time I’d ever played a game that actually required you to download the latest drivers for your video card, they wanted to ensure as few problems as they could.

The downside, though, was that the ability to get into the same game as your group of friends was glitchy, at best.  I hope they fix that in the final release!

Call_of_Duty_Black_Ops_II_box_artworkWe also played a fair bit of Call of Duty: Black Ops 2, a game I had never played before.  I learned very quickly that whatever skills I thought I had in FPS games, they were nothing compared to these veterans!

In fact, if I had to come up with a kill ratio, I’d say it was probably 10 of my deaths to one kill.  :-/  But the most important part was that it was a blast, and playing the game with these awesome folks meant that no one was childish about it, and we all had fun, no matter our skill level!

And finally, there was Tribes: Ascend.  I had never played Tribes before, but THIS was a fun game.  Seriously, check it out, and make sure you look into learning the ski function in it – that’s what sets it apart!

We also played a bit of Left 4 Dead 2, that was so much fun to have a full 4v4 team going!  I love playing the monsters in the game, heheh.  I also saw others playing Wareframe, which has sparked my curiosity into it.

Then I was introduced to Chris Roberts’s newest upcoming, totally crowd-funded game Star Citizen.  This is an incredibly ambitious video game in the works, and the results are already amazing!

https://robertsspaceindustries.com/
https://robertsspaceindustries.com/

Imagine hopping into your ship, heading into battle with some friends.  There’s a large enemy ship.  Want to capture it?  Board it, hop out of your ship, grab your gun, and begin the invasion.  I really want to look into it some more, I only saw glimpses, but the details and the mechanics seemed really awesome.

An Exaustingly Relaxing Weekend

Little sleep, lots of fun, and a fair bit of alcohol – this was a totally exhausting weekend.  And yet, I’ve come out of it feeling more relaxed than I have in a long, long time.  For a couple of days, the past several months of trials and hardships were forgotten, and my nearly-depleted energy levels were refilled.

So kudos out to VtW Productions, to Wayne, and to everyone I met at Gamefest (You owe me a rematch, Lt4ork!! ;) )  Thank you all for an awesome weekend, and I look forward to seeing you all again!

Thanks for reading,
-Jon Wasik

PS: Gamer Geeks ;) (Thanks Tara for posting this image!)gamefest-joke

6 thoughts on “VtW Gamefest – Geeks Know How to Party!”

  1. I’ve never been to a LAN party but I love games and they are a great way to relax. Out of the games you mentioned, I’ve only seen a bit of the Star Wars Battlefront Beta and, like you said, the graphics were amazing. I’ve played Black Ops 2 campaign but can’t remember if I ever tried multiplayer. I did play Modern Warfare 3 and Advanced Warfare multiplayers though. Also I recently tried the Rainbow Six Siege Beta, which was pretty cool. The mechanics are so different from usual FPS games and it seems perfect for gamer groups since it relies so much on team work. Maybe it’ll be at the next party?

    1. I tried to put together a few LAN parties in my college days, but they never really panned out. This was really the first time I’d ever been to one, and all I can say is: I highly recommend it :D heheh.

      I loved the Modern Warfare series, but I never got to play MW3 much because my PC kept crashing on it. It was only about two months ago that I realized that, and some other crashes, was due to a failing memory stick. The joys of PC ownership ;)

      I’ve not tried R6Siege, in fact the last R6 game I played was Vegas 2, lol. But that was a very, very fun game. So thanks for the tip, I might try it out :D

      Have you ever played any of the Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter games?

      1. Indeed the joys of PCs — I had to change my memory sticks a few months back too since they were causing crashes!

        Actually, Vegas 2 is the only R6 game I’ve played before Siege so I don’t have much experience with the series. But Siege was so much fun I’m hoping to be able to gather a team to play it once it’s released.

        I haven’t tried any Ghost Recon games but I’ve been meaning to. Is Advanced Warfighter the one you’d recommend?

      2. Heya, I’m so sorry I didn’t reply sooner.

        Advanced Warfighter is definitely worth a shot. Last time I played it, however, it was kinda buggy on modern PC’s. They may have updates by now to fix that. I believe there was a much newer Advanced Warfighter made in recent days, but it wasn’t nearly as good as 1 and 2 were, in my opinion :)

Leave a Reply

