Writing Is Only Part of the Battle

Hi everyone!

When I was a little kid and first dreamt of becoming a writer, I never could have imagined how there is sooooo much more to it than just writing.

Don’t get me wrong, writing is very important.  I’ve spent 20 years honing my craft, and I intend to never stop striving to be better, no matter how good I become.  If I somehow become the #1 best selling fantasy author in the world (if only) I will never stop trying to one-up my writing style, my stories.  I want to be better.

Cover Sword of Dragons DigitalBut 7 months after publishing The Sword of Dragons, one thing has become very, very clear to me – writing is only part of the job.

Let’s pretend for a moment that I had published via the traditional method: found an agent, who found a publishing house, who paid me up-front for my work and helped with a lot of the ‘other stuff.’  That still would have left me with a lot of work to do.

As the author of my novels, I am the one best qualified for promoting it, and I believe that rings true for all writers.  You know your target audience.  You know your novel.  You know its strengths, its highlights, what makes it worth reading.

But promoting it, and building a platform, is in and of itself is a full-time job, I’m discovering.  And right now, I still suck at all of that, lol.  Seriously, I would never have gotten this far if it hadn’t been for the advice and help of people like Wayne Adams, M. H. Lee, and Christian Michael.

But there’s still so much more to do, so much more that can be done.  As I prepare to launch the Orc War Campaigns web series, my shortcomings are becoming even more apparent.

Challenges of the New Series

Image source - earthlightacademy.blogspot.com
Image source – earthlightacademy.blogspot.com

The story is turning out beautifully, in my opinion (hopefully my beta readers will agree :) ).  Where it is now, where I plan to take it, it will make an excellent addition to the SoD universe (not to mention free to read!)

But how do I build up anticipation?  I’ve tried to do so here on my blog, but I feel like I’ve fallen short.  I’ve wanted to put more about it on the SoD website, but I’m struggling with how to present it there.  And I need to do at least something to help present it graphically on the website, but once again, I’m struggling.

The first three stories are pretty much ready to go.  Some final tweaks, that’s it.  In fact I consider the first story, “Invasion,” completed and ready for public consumption!  But presentation is important.  I can’t just put it on a file upload and say “here ya go, folks, enjoy!”  It deserves more than that, and so do the fans.

Which is why I made the decision (but never officially announced it until now) that the web series will not be launched this month.  I am instead aiming for early to mid January.  Nebulous, I know :(  But with the first 3 ‘episodes’ all but complete, my focus for the next two weeks is creating a platform from which to launch :D

Not All is Lost

While I’ve struggled considerably with the ‘business side’ of writing, it has not been a complete failure.  Sales are up!  :D  Almost all have been eBook, but there were even more print sales this month than the prior 4!

And this is the coolest part – it is safe to say that I have fans.  :D  Fans who are supportive, excited for the series, and bugging me almost every week for updates on the release of book 2.  (For the record, I love being bugged about that, it inspires me to keep moving forward!)

Image Source - http://www.rmfw.org/
Image Source – http://www.rmfw.org/

So in light of all of this, and in light of the fact that I have achieved more than enough sales to be considered a member of RMFW’s IPAL (though I must now put in the paperwork for that), I am comfortable in calling the release of my first novel a success!  And while I cannot yet live off of writing, this has turned out to be a giant step in the right direction.

And you know what?  I have all of you, those who have followed my blog, read my book, and encouraged me, to thank for that success.  Thank you everyone for a successful, life-changing first year!!

Image Source - www.tech.co
Image Source – http://www.tech.co

-Jon Wasik

(Note: this will not be the last blog entry of the year.  Stay tuned for more!)

Leave a Reply

