Do Writers Get Sick Days?

Hi everyone,

starfest
http://www.starfestdenver.com/

Before I get into the meat of this post, I just wanted to let everyone know that I will have a booth at the upcoming Starfest Sci-Fi Convention in Denver, CO!  I’ll be sharing my booth with the talented fellow author M. H. Lee, so come on by and check us out!

This will be the first time I’ve ever had a booth at a convention, so I am really looking forward to this new experience!  I’m also terrified about it, so I’m glad to have a friend with me to share the experience :)

Unlike my experience with the coffee shop (which I did enjoy and consider a success,) this is more of my target audience, so I am hoping to be able to engage with way more people, regardless of sales, and get to know some amazing people.  Plus I really love cosplay, so I’m looking forward to seeing all of the costumes :D

Denver Comic Con 2015
Denver Comic Con 2015

 

Do Writers Get Sick Days?

It has been nearly 3 weeks since my last post, and I am so very sorry to leave you all in the dark like this.  There have been a few causes, not the least of which was that I was sick for nearly 3 weeks.  In fact today is the first day in 3 weeks that I haven’t had a nasty cough.  So I haven’t been neglecting you all on purpose or without cause, I promise!

Image source - google.com
Image source – google.com

But there’s also more.  Some of you may have recognized a pattern in the past couple months, this sudden lapse in posts happened last year.  Sometimes life has a way of tearing us down, and for me, the hardest-hitting is when I am in a disintegrating relationship.

I’ve avoided talking about my relationships in the past on here, and for the most part I’d like to continue that.  But my slow-down in creativity, my lack of blog and Facebook posts, it got me thinking, and I can’t help but wonder how other authors out there balance the peaks and troughs of their personal lives against writing.

As I’ve been learning over the past few years, being a writer is way more than just writing a story and sending it to a publisher or printer.  Especially when one is a self-published author.  This part is just as important, if not more so: blogging, connecting to readers and fans (I still am not used to being able to say that I have fans.  You all rock!!!  :D )

So when life turns painful, all aspects of my writing suffer, and I feel like I’m letting you all down.  I don’t want to.  But I also realize that writing is still a job (granted one that I completely love,) and all jobs have sick days.  Sometimes we need to take time off from our jobs to take care of what’s important in our lives, who is important in our lives.

I guess this past month has been my sick leave.

But it’s time to come back.  I won’t leave you all hanging for several months like I did last year.  It’s time to get back into writing full-on again.  I might have to ease in a bit, but I’m back from my ‘leave’.

What about all of you?  How do all of you keep your personal lives from negatively affecting your creative outlets and jobs?  And do you believe that writers, celebrities, and anyone else who presents themselves to the world at large like this, really get sick days?

Thanks for reading!
-Jon Wasik

Leave a Reply

