Book Birthday – The Sword of Dragons Turns 1!

Image Source - www.lisavictoria.net
Image Source – http://www.lisavictoria.net

It started as an idea.  A dream, about another world where magic is common, dragons are myths come to life, and the fate of an entire world hangs on an ancient and powerful sword.

One year ago, that dream was finally realized.  On May 12th, 2015, The Sword of Dragons was finally released!  After over a decade of development, drastic changes and evolution, and so much heartache (not to mention headaches), it finally saw the light of day, and became available for public consumption!

Cover Sword of Dragons DigitalBut it is so much more than that.  Today isn’t just book 1’s birthday…it is the anniversary of when I made one of my greatest dreams come true.

I don’t know when exactly, but I was around 9 or 10 years old when I attempted to write my first story, a Star Trek fan fiction (before I knew it was called fan fiction) that featured all of my classmates as characters.  From that day forward, I dreamt of becoming a published author.

It took over 20 years to make that dream a reality, but I did it!  20 years…I’m either very persistent, or just incredibly stubborn.  Probably both, lol.

So, I’m published…but am I successful?  Over 50 print copies sold, and well over 100 Kindle sales (not to mention over 500 ‘sold’ free during a 5 day sale) and approximately 30 borrowed via Kindle Unlimited, that is definitely a success for an independently published novel!

Unfortunately, I cannot yet make a living off of writing.  Not yet.  But that is also a dream of mine, and as I think I’ve proven, once I’ve set my mind to something, nothing can stop me!  There’s that stubborn/persistent streak again ;)

Burning-Skies-Digital-FinalBased on what my friend M. H. Lee has told me regarding sales and number of books published, it may just only be a matter of time and how many novels I get out there.  Not to mention more presence.  The more word spreads, the better chance I’ll have.

So keep spreading the word, my dear friends and fans (I still get chills realizing that I have fans, heheh.)  Make The Sword of Dragons known, help me make a living off of writing so that I can write more stories faster!  After all, this is just the beginning.  In just 2 and a half weeks, Burning Skies comes out.  Beyond that?

Well…that is a story for another time.  ;)

Thank you.  Thank you all so much for your support.  Your praise (5 stars on Amazon!!!)  Your encouragement.  All of it.  I couldn’t have come this far without you.

-Jon Wasik

Leave a Reply

