Where Have I Been? And Where Am I Going?

Hey everyone!

After finally writing at least one or two blogs per week, I hit another (thankfully brief) period of absence, and I wish to apologize to you all for doing that.  I meant to let you all know it was going to happen, but life happened fast these past couple weeks.

Where Have I been?

Over a week ago, my mother went into the hospital for a major surgery.  Despite complications, both during and after surgery, she is doing well and was recently discharged from the hospital.  But needless to say, most of my free time was spent helping my Dad and being with my Mom.

docdead-stormThere was also much happening in my life prior and after that.  Including Denver Comic Con!!  :D  I had such a blast at DCC this year, and got to spend it with a lot of fantastic people :)  Including Wayne, aka DocDead, in his gender-bender Storm outfit!  (Yes, that’s him!)

Shortly after that was my Mom’s surgery, and then after she was stabilized, I ended up going to the Colorado Renaissance Festival again.  And then…I had an amazing first date with someone I met recently!!  :D

So it has been a decidedly super busy couple of weeks, with some downs, but a whole lot more ups!  And now that things are settled down, I can finally take a breath :)

Where Am I Going?

With the successful publication of my second novel, Burning Skies, now out for over a month, I think it’s time to let you all know what I am up to now, and what my plans are for the next year!

digital-cover-1Starting with the completion of The Orc War Campaigns.  Originally I wanted the entire series to be finished in time for the release of Burning Skies, but alas, that was not to be, and TOWC has since been on a ‘mid-season hiatus.’

However, I did resume writing the series last month!  The 6th episode, titled “Crossroads” has already been written, and I’m more than 2/3rds through writing the 7th episode (I don’t yet have a title for that episode…)

…so why haven’t I released the 6th episode?  Firstly, I have not done a single proofread run on it.  I have found that after I write a story, it is best to let it sit for a short time before attempting a proofread, as it allows me to see it with fresh eyes.  Secondly, I’m highly tempted to wait to start releasing the episodes until all 4 of the final episodes are written.

So my goal is to write them out as quickly as possible, and then release them as I complete their proofreads and edits.  I haven’t had a chance to write in over two weeks, but I intend to resume writing with a vengeance!!

After that, I begin writing the manuscript for the 3rd novel in the Sword of Dragons saga!  This one I am super excited about.  So much is going to happen, and the characters are going to make leaps and bounds.  But there will also be so much heartache, and the fight will become much more personal for everyone…

Burning-Skies-Digital-FinalI do have a title in mind for the 3rd book, but I want to run it by some friends before I officially announce it.  Plus, I want to give Burning Skies more time in the spotlight :D

I also have a busy upcoming release schedule.  Once The Orc War Campaigns has finished and I’ve written a first draft of book 3, I want to release Orc War Campaigns as an anthology in paperback and ebook.  Ideally, by no later than December.  And then book 3 is slated to be released in late May 2017.

More To Come!

In short, I’m back!  I hope you all will forgive me for my absence, and will stay with me.  There is so much more to come this year :)

Thank you for reading!
-Jon Wasik

Leave a Reply

