The Longest Week – Depression and Hope

Hi everyone!

I want to apologize for being over a week late on a blog post!!!  I’m so very sorry for the delay :( A lot has happened over the past 10 days, much of it centered around Mile Hi Con and Halloween!

milehicon48So what about Mile Hi Con, you ask?  How was the con?  How many books did I sell?  Did I make a ton of important industry contacts?  Are my social media pages getting tons of new hits??

…I am really sad to say that, as far as the convention and book sales went, it was a total bust :( The entire weekend, I sold one book.  Just one copy of The Sword of Dragons.

One.

And at $15, that didn’t even come CLOSE to making me break even on expenses.  It summarily put me back in the red on my business.

But it wasn’t just me.  Mile Hi Con was a bust for a lot of people.  The con was relatively empty.  In fact, of all of the conventions I have attended, it had the smallest crowd of them all.  And when we spoke to many of the authors in Author’s “Row,” they all had similar experiences.

In fact two of the people I know came from out of town and only sold a few books.  If this weekend set me back as far as it did, I can only imagine how much it hurt them.

My amazing girlfriend, and her new hat!  Check out her facebook page! https://www.facebook.com/beckstewartauthor
My amazing girlfriend, and her new hat! Check out her facebook page! https://www.facebook.com/beckstewartauthor

Seriously, if my wonderful and amazing girlfriend hadn’t been there with me the whole weekend, I would have been so depressed about it.  Much more so than I am, any way.

Why was the weekend so bad?  I think a big part of it was timing.  This was the first time Mile Hi Con was on Halloween weekend, which was very unfortunate.  One of the guys who runs the con told my girlfriend and I that they usually have the con a couple weeks earlier, but this was the only weekend open this year for this venue.  He thinks that greatly contributed to it.

At least there were a few good cosplay costumes!
At least there were a few good cosplay costumes!

I also think it was a huge mistake that they split up Author’s Row on two sides of the…lobby?  Atrium?  Not quite sure what to call the area where the authors were setup.  But we noticed that a lot of people visited the authors on the other side of the wide-open space, but when they came to our side, they walked right by without stopping.

I even recall one patron asking “Oh, is this part of author’s row too?”  So I really hope the organizer of Author’s Row takes my suggestions to heart for next year…

It doesn’t help that my sales have been almost non-existent for the entire month of October.  This is easily the worst selling period I’ve had since I first published The Sword of Dragons.  :(

And Then There Was Hope – Why I Write

For all of the sadness and disappointment regarding my writing career (I’m very careful to specify that, because everything else in my life is going amazingly well, especially my relationship! :D ), there came a ray of hope this week.

Cover by Christian Michael
Cover by Christian Michael

All of a sudden, I received a message from an old friend from high school, “My daughter is loving Sword of Dragons!”  She further elaborated that she read the prologue and chapter 1 to her daughter, and that by the end of the prologue, her daughter proclaimed, “I wanna be the Keeper, I wanna be the Keeper!”

That, right there, made me smile so very much!!  It was a much-needed reprieve, and was a reminder of why I write.

To inspire.  To kindle the imagination of people, no matter their age.  To make them dream!

And my story did just that for this one little girl.

I needed that…badly.

So a big shout out to my friend and her daughter!  Thank you for reminding me why I keep doing this, even when it seems like no one wants to read my work.  Because, so it would seem, someone does read it :)

Thanks for reading, everyone!  You can fully expect a new blog on Saturday, returning us to our normal schedule :)  (Perhaps I’ll even get brave enough to do another vlog!!  :D )

-Jon Wasik

Leave a Reply

