The Return of Kataar – Back To Book 3

Hi everyone!

digital-cover-1As I work on the final proofread of the final episode of The Orc War Campaigns, I’ve started to look at my outline for book 3 of the Sword of Dragons saga, and I’m excited!

But it’s also a bit of a weird feeling.  I finished the outline for the 3rd novel last year, and have devoted all of my attention since then on publishing Burning Skies and writing The Orc War Campaigns.  I’ve not touched book 3 at all during that time.

I was intimately familiar with the story I had crafted last year, and now I’m reading the outline going “Oh yeah…I forgot about that.  Huh, I forgot about that too.”

Do other writers experience this, or is my ADHD kicking in severely and I’m just spacing all of these plot points I came up with and worked on for over a year?  I’m not sure.

But one thing is for certain: the story I came up with last year is exciting!  Maybe that’s the advantage of stepping away for so long and coming back: it gives me fresh eyes with which to be amazed!

The Order of the Ages

I think I posted it once before, but so far I’ve only come up with one chapter title, and that’s the first chapter: “The Seal of the Covenant”

Image Source - http://dragonage.wikia.com/wiki/Chantry
Image Source – http://dragonage.wikia.com/wiki/Chantry

In the first two novels, the religion on Halarite, The Order of the Ages, played a small, if important role in parts of the stories.  They were hardly mentioned in The Orc War Campaigns.  And the authoritative body of the Order, called the Covenant, has had its world turned upside down, and several of their standing lies exposed.

In book 3, all of that will come to a head.  And 10,000 years of history will come to bear.  I’m not exactly sure how much I should or shouldn’t say here (this is where having a marketing manager would be very useful!!)  A character from book 1 will return, but he will not be the same person.  And events from the very founding of The Order will come to bear.

Beyond Halarite

Image Source - http://wallpapercave.com/dark-dragon-wallpaper
Image Source – http://wallpapercave.com/dark-dragon-wallpaper

As big of a role as the Order and the Covenant will play, much more will happen, and Cardin’s adventure will take him beyond Halarite!  Until now, they have only had a hint of what was out there in the Universe.  But with the threat of the return of Nuuldan, Cardin and Endri must seek answers to ancient questions on other worlds.

More than that, Cardin must come to terms with his new powers, as the light and the dark within him begin to conflict, and he must find a balance.  This will be one of the most difficult times for Cardin, as he must struggle both with conflicts from within alongside the battles in the Universe around him.

Image Source - http://6iee.com/428828.html
Image Source – http://6iee.com/428828.html

Not to mention the Star Dragons are going to play a much larger role in book 3!  In fact, there will be more dragons in book 3 than in the first two novels combined!!

I’m also excited to say that Kailar’s role in the Sword of Dragons universe is only going to grow from here on out.  This was planned long before I found out that she has become a fan-favorite, so I’m betting you are all as excited as I am for her return :D

Well I think I’ll leave it there for now.  I expect to start writing the manuscript for book 3 by early December!  :D  I’m so excited to get started, and I can’t wait to share more of this exciting new chapter in the Sword of Dragons saga with all of you!

Thanks for reading!
-Jon Wasik

Leave a Reply

