Launching My Patreon Page!

Hello, there!

After deliberating on it for a long, long while, and after hyper-fixating on it (yay ADHD!) for several days, I decided to create a Patreon page!  Before I get into more about why I made one (and some of this, you can read about in my Patreon’s “About” section), here’s the link to check it out!

https://www.patreon.com/JonWasik

There are currently three tiers you can subscribe to, with the lowest being just $1 per month.

Why go as low as $1 when Patreon said “at a minimum, you should do $3/month!”?  Well, because I know what it’s like to be strapped for cash.  I mean, *gestures at everything*.

But my biggest reason for this is…I want to make this work.  I want to be a full-time creative.  I want to write, I want to narrate, I want to act, I want to build worlds.

I’ve read that Patreon is only a good place to get followers if you already have followers, so maybe this is a shot in the dark and I’m doomed to fail.  But I have to try.

I’m running out of options.  And if something doesn’t change soon, then I’m just…gonna have to find another day job.  Which means more stress, less time to write, less time to narrate, less time to create content.

And I’m running out of steam.

If you’ve followed my blog for a while, you’ll know that life hasn’t been particularly kind to my wife and I over the past 4 years.  Started in late 2019 and it just hasn’t let up.

So I’m doing what I can.  I’m a creative, so I figured Patreon would be the best place, right?  Sure I could have done something like Kofi, asked for donations, but…I hate feeling like a burden, on anyone, let alone strangers.

Instead, I’m asking for help, and in return, I give back with extra content.  And if magically things turn around, and a lot of people subscribe and I never have to worry about a day job again, then that leaves me time to make even more content, both for subscribers and everyone else!

More than that, it would mean less stress.  And while fear is the mindkiller, as they say in Dune, stress is the creative killer.

So if you’re willing to help a struggling writer out, with just a dollar, or 5, or 10, and you want bonus content in return, then please check out my Patreon, and sign up for whatever level you are comfortable with.

I’m also open to suggestions for making my Patreon better and more worthwhile!  So don’t be shy about voicing your thoughts and opinions, I genuinely want to hear them!

And just so you don’t have to scroll back up if I’ve convinced you to check it out, there’s that link again :)

https://www.patreon.com/JonWasik

Thanks for reading!
-Jon Wasik

Leave a comment